No Ground Left Unturned

Our final words
Will begin with
“I don’t need
A sepia filter today.”
Olympic. Baker.
A blaze that begins
On a binary
Stays not to
One side.
Rainier. St. Helens.
My neighbor approaches me and my plastic watering can.
Isn’t that a waste? He says,
Standing, car sparkling, in green grass, mine brown and cracking
In August.
Hood. Crater.
Before the belief
In any god
Comes the belief in
The Ozone Layer.
Shasta. Redwood.
I long for a moment
That predates our predator,
But I know that, in that moment,
We are not welcome.
Sierra. Yosemite.
My home
Has long been preparing
For an earthquake.
We are not ready for fire.
Joshua. Ocean.
If truth is to arrive gradually,
It will gauge our interest.
But the signs go unnoticed until our eyes open
And our sky is red.


Ben Campion

Leave a comment